Tuesday, October 11, 2005

SPR For Notes 7.0 Multi-User Install

As a follow-up to my last entry about 7.0 Multi-User Installs, IBM has issued Technote 1219467:

Users are prompted to complete the Client Setup Wizard after upgrading a Notes Multi-user installation to 7.0

You are attempting to upgrade a Notes 6.x multi-user installation to Notes 7.0. When you launch Notes after completing the install, however, you are prompted to select a location and to complete the Client Setup Wizard. This is not the expected behavior. You should not be prompted to provide additional information when upgrading a multi-user installation of Notes.

Note: This issue does not result in data loss. Local databases and NOTES.INI files are not removed or adversely effected.

This issue has been reported to Quality Engineering as SPR# HXXE68T7Y5 and a fix is being researched. The issue has been reproduced when the multi-user upgrade is performed manually, through a silent install, or when deployed using a third-party installation program.

To work around the issue, each user that uses Notes on that workstation must complete the Client Setup Wizard. Doing so will require that the user provide information including their user name, home/mail server, User ID file location, and specify which additional services to enable.

No comments: